Fellowships in Learned Societies

1991  Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (FIEEE)
“For contributions to the modeling and design of passive microwave and millimeter-wave circuits”

1992  Fellow of the Electromagnetics Academy at MIT (FEMA)
“In recognition of scholarly achievements and distinguished educational and professional services”

2003  Fellow of the Royal Society of Canada (FRSC)
“For scientific achievements”

2007  Life Fellow of the Institute of Electrical and Electronics Engineers (LFIEEE)
“In recognition of the many years of loyal membership and support of the activities of the IEEE”

2008  Fellow of the German Academy of Science and Engineering (ACATECH)
“In recognition of scientific achievements”

2009  Fellow of the the Canadian Academy of Engineering (FCAE)
“For experience and distinction in the art and science of engineering in Canada”

2016  Fellow of the Engineering Institute of Canada (FEIC)
“In recognition of excellence in engineering and for service to the profession and society”

2020  Fellow of the Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES)
“For exceptional achievements and outstanding contributions in Applied Computational Electromagnetics”

Gallery of Fellowships

Awards and Distinctions

1959  4-Year University Scholarship of the Government of the German Federal Republic

1966  3-Year University Scholarship of the Government of France

1968  Obtained highest mention (“Trés bien avec félicitations du jury”) for doctoral dissertation and defense at the University of Grenoble, France

1974  Senior Staff Award for meritorious service, University of Ottawa, Canada

1976  Senior Staff Award for meritorious service, University of Ottawa, Canada

1986  Best Presented Paper Award, 1986 IEEE MTT-S Symposium, Baltimore

1989  Invited Lansdowne Lecturer, University of Victoria, BC, Canada
Invitation to present a series of scientific lectures under the Lansdowne program

1990  Peter Johns Prize
from John Wiley & Sons for best paper published in 1989 in the International Journal of Numerical Modelling

1992  Endowed NSERC MPR-Teltech Industrial Research Chair in RF Engineering, University of Victoria, Canada

2002  Mainstay Award, Applied Computational Electromagnetics Society (ACES), “for outstanding promotion and support of the annual ACES Conference”

2004  Recognition of 25 Years of Research Achievements, Natural Sciences and Engineering Research Council of Canada (NSERC), “for important research achievements that have contributed to the sum total of human knowledge and the advancement of the economic and social well-being of Canadians over the 25 years of NSERC's existence”

2005  Distinguished Microwave Lecturer 2005-2007, IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques (MTT) Society, (Mandate to present talks to local MTT-S chapters world-wide; gave numerous lectures in Canada, USA, Belgium, France, Italy, Germany, Finland, Sweden, Hungary, China, Singapore, and Switzerland)

2006  Distinguished Educator Award, IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques (MTT) Society, “for outstanding achievements as an educator, mentor and role model of microwave engineers and engineering students”

2007  Honorary Doctorate “Doktor-Ingenieur h.c.”, Technische Universität München (TUM), Germany, “for extraordinary achievements in the area of electromagnetic field theory”. TUM is ranked 1st among universities in Germany and the EU, and 25th globally

2009  A.G.L. McNaughton Award and Gold Medal, IEEE Canada (Region 7), awarded “to outstanding Canadian engineers recognized for their exemplary contributions to the engineering profession”

2011  Microwave Pioneer Award, IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques (MTT) Society, “for pioneering contributions to time domain computational methods, in particular the transmission line matrix (TLM) and finite-difference time domain (FDTD) methods”

2011  Best Paper Award, Institute of High Performance Computing, A*STAR, Singapore, “for best Electronics and Photonics paper published in 2011” in “Plasmonics” vol. 6, no. 3, 591-597

2012  Most Inspiring Mentor Award, Agency for Science, Technology and Research (A*STAR), Singapore, awarded “in recognition of inspirational and dedicated scientists who have played fundamental roles in nurturing other scientists or scholars”

2022  Microwave Career Award, IEEE Microwave Theory and Techniques (MTT) Society, “in recognition of a career of meritorious achievement and outstanding technical contribution in the field of microwave theory and techniques”. This is the highest award bestowed by the IEEE MTT-Society

2023  Listed in Canadian Who is Who

2023  Ranked among the World’s Top 2% Scientists in the prestigious classification by Stanford University.

Gallery of Awards & Distinctions

Updated 2 November 2023